Corps of Sri Lanka Engineers

Motherland Honour & Service

07th November 2018 19:07:18 Hours


The Annual Friendly Sappers Cricket Encounter took place for the fourth consecutive year on 27 October 2018 at the Sappers Cricket Stadium Maththegoda. The event was organized by the 16 Workshop Regiment under the supervision of the Commanding Officer Lt Col KASJ Kodithuwakku SLE. Maj Gen(Retd) GDI Karunaratne RSP psc graced the thrilling event as the Chief Guest together with the participation of several Senior Sapper Officers, Officers and Other Ranks.

The T20 match was held between two teams, the Green Sappers led by Maj Gen (Retd) GDI Karunaratne RSP psc and the Blue Sappers led by Maj Gen TJ Nanayakkara RWP USP ndu. Blues won the toss and elected to bat and completed the 20 overs by setting a target of 169 runs for the loss of two wickets. The Green Sappers scored 132 runs for the loss of 7 wickets and losing to Blues who emerged as the champions reaching a comprehensive win by restricting the Greens. The two teams were represented by the champion players of the Corps as mentioned below:

Greens: Maj Gen(Retd) GDI Karunaratne RSP psc (Captain), Col DP Jayasinghe, Col M Mayadunna RSP USP, Lt Col DCA Wickramasinghe USP USACGSC SLE, Lt Col TC Peiris RSP USP SLE, Lt Col TDP Siriwardene psc SLE, Lt Col KASJ Kodithuwakku SLE, Maj CM Liyanage SLE(wk), Maj NLC Chandrajith RSP SLE, Capt EMNC Edirisinghe SLE, Capt WDMNB Wijesundara SLE, Capt KVP Gunasekara SLE, Blues: Maj Gen TJ Nanayakkara RWP USP ndu (Captain), Col AHLG Amarapala RWP RSP psc, Lt Col MPK Madurapperuma RSP USP psc SLE, Lt Col HKP Karunathilaka RSP SLE, Lt Col RM Subasingha RSP SLE, Maj GGCL Kulathunga RSP psc SLE, Maj KKP Pussewala RSP SLE, Maj ALIWK Athugala RSP psc SLE, Maj WDDN Weerasinghe psc SLE, Capt HMCK Gunarathna SLE(wk), Capt WSL Jayarathna SLE.

At this event, the Chief Guest Maj Gen(Retd) GDI Karunaratne RSP psc gave away the prizes for the winners of Corps of Engineers Inter Unit Cricket Tournament 2018 which was worked out in 8,9,10 and 11 of October 2018. 8 Field Engineer Regiment emerged as the champions while 9 Field Engineer Regiment secured the Runners up. Each team captain were awarded with the respective trophies at the presentation ceremony by the Chief Guest. Further the Chief Guest gave away the prizes for the Best Bowler Spr Tharanga PC of 8 SLE, the best Batsman L/Cpl Ekanayake EMSK of 9 SLE, the Best Fielder Cpl Janaka Kumara of 8 SLE and the Man of the series L/Cpl Ekanayake EMSK of 9 SLE.