Security Force Headquarters



To strengthen the Humanitarian Operations in the Wanni region the Army Headquarters dir to raise few new infantry divisions. The 59 Division under the leadership of Brig N Udawatta RSP psc (presently Maj Gen) was raised on 13 Dec 07 at ANURADAPURA and after auspicious inauguration shifted to PADAVI PARAKKRAMAPURA. Later with the commencement of offensive ops, Div HQ was shifted to HELAMBEWEWA, NELUMWEWA, KUMULAMUNAI, MULLIYAVALAI and finally to TANNIYUTTU. At the inception 59 Division had only 591 Bde with two Bns namely 14 SLSR and 11 GW. Subsequently 14 VIR, 1 SLSR, and 9 SLE joined with 591 Bde. The 592 Bde was raised on 29 Dec 07 with 14 SLSR, 14 GR and 12 SLLI. 15 SLLI was u/c to 592 Bde and made operational from 05 Feb 08. The 593 Bde was raised on 31 Dec 08 and launched into battle on 16 Mar 08 with 15 SLLI and 9 VIR whilst 7 GW joined the Bde subsequently. At latter stages of the Ops 593 Bde was det from 59 Div and att to 53 Div on 02 Feb 09 with 15 SLLI, 9 SLSR, 7 GW, 14 GR and 4 VIR and subsequently placed under command to newly raised Task Force 8 on 15 Feb 09 and re-designated as 681 Bde. The new 593 Bde was raised again on 15 Feb 09. The 594 Bde was raised on 11 Mar 09 and the 595 Bde was raised on 12 Mar 09. The 574 Bde of 57 Div was att to 59 Div from 22 Feb 09. After estb of SF HQ (MLT) 594 Bde and 595 Bde were det and re-dep in TF 4 and Area HQ (WLO) respectively wef 09 Nov 09.

59 Div launched its first Op on 07 Jan 08 from JANAKAPURA and KIRIIBBANWEWA with the aim of clear, and cause max attrition to the LTTE in ANDNKULAM forest reserve. LTTE defences had been fortified with heavily laid IEDs, booby traps and mine fds and all the possible approaches had been covered with SAs, MGs and indirect fire assets such as mor / arty. With the developing of major offensive and ltd offensive ops, tps of the Division were able to cause hy attrition on the LTTE and thereby was able to increase the moral of own tps and gained experience in conducting ops against the LTTE.

During the said period Div as a whole have achieved land mark victories over LTTE whilst liberating the territory held by LTTE. Amongst them, capturing of 14 Bases and the vital grounds such as NAYARU Bridge, ALAMPIL, MULLIYAVALAI, MULLAITTIVU, WADDUVAKAL and South of VELLAMULLIVAIKKAL were significant.

After the Humanitarian Operation conducted on 12 May 2009 by the Div to cross the NANTHIKADAL lagoon, over 70,000 of Tamil civilians who were forcefully retained in No Fire Zone (NFZ) by the LTTE fled to 59 Division controlled area across the NANTHIKADAL lagoon.

The 59 Division having marched 28 kilometers from JANAKAPURA area successfully completed the task assigned to the Division with the capture of MULLAITTIVU. The 59 Division had advanced nearly 28 kilometers through extremely difficult terrain, weather conditions and 14 Base Complex which was the most concentrated area of LTTE, to capture MULLAITTIVU. At the end of this most arduous task, 59 Division had taken the control of approximately 425 Square kilometers controlled by LTTE. This great contribution of 59 Division helped early eradication of LTTE from our motherland.


Maj Gen DKSK Dolage USP psc


Ser no RANK NAME From To
1. Brigadier N Udawatta RSP psc 13.12.2007 05.02.2009
2. Major General N Udawatta RSP psc 05.02.2009 10.05.2009
3. Brigadier CP Gallege RWP RSP 10.05.2009 29.07.2009
4. Brigadier DC Keppetiwalana RSP psc 29.07. 2009 04.12.2009
5. Brigadier ND Wanniarachchi  RSP IG 04.12.2009 02.02.2010
6. Major General LAD Amarathunga  RSP USP USAWC 02.02.2010 07.05.2010
7. Brigadier AWMAWN Ranawana RSP psc 14.06.2010 27.10.2011
8. Brigadier GRH  Dias USP Psc IG 27.10.2011 08.01.2013
9. Brigadier MKD Perera RWP RSP USP 08.01.2013 29.08.2013
10. Brigadier SKGNB Ehalamalpe RSP 30.08.2013 08.01.2014
11. Brigadier AS De Z Wickramaratne USP psc IG 08.01.2014 17.07.2014
12. Brigadier NAPC Napagoda USP IG 18.07.2014 07.04.2015
13. Brigadier LM Mudalige RWP RSP 08.04.2015 03.08.2015
14. Brigadier N D  Wanniarachchi  WWV  RSP  USP ndc  IG 04.08.2015 20.10.2016
15. Major General N D  Wanniarachchi  WWV  RSP  USP ndc  IG 20.10.2016 06.02.2018
16. Brigadier PR Wanigasooriya USP ndu USA CGSC 2018.02.07 2018.06.29
17. Major General PR Wanigasooriya USP ndu USA CGSC 2018.06.29 2019.07.11
18. Brigadier KHPP Fernando RWP RSP USP ndu 2019.07.12 2019.10.29
19. Maj Gen KHPP Fernando RWP RSP USP ndu 2019.10.29 2019.12.18
20. Brigadier WLPW Perera RWP RSP ndu 2019.12.19 2020.02.04
21. Maj Gen WLPW Perera RWP RSP ndu 2020.02.04 2020.10.20
22. Brigadier MP Lamahewa USP 2020.10.21 2021.01.03
23. Maj Gen MP Lamahewa USP 2021.01.04 2021.02.19
24. Brigadier GD Sooriyabandara USP 2021.02.19 2021.05.06
25. Maj Gen GD Sooriyabandara USP 2021.05.07 2022.10.04
26. Maj Gen RMM Ranasingha WWV RWP RSP 2022.10.06 2023.07.13
27. Maj Gen DKSK Dolage USP psc 2023.07.14 Up to date


Headquarters 59 Division
Army Cantonment

Email - 59div@army.lk,59division@gmail.com
Tel - 0113030871
Fax - 0113137791

591 Brigade
592 Brigade
593 Brigade