Security Forces Headquarters

24 Division



24 Infantry Division is the youngest Infantry Division in the Sri Lanka Army and was initially raised as "Task Force 3" at Mallavi, with 14 Officers and 36 Other Ranks during the Humanitarian Operation - North on 25 October 2008. Task Force 3 has actively engaged in Humanitarian Operation and later, it was re-formed as "24 Division" on 27 November 2013 and re-established at the present location of Malwatta, Ampara on 27 January 2014. Subsequently, 24 Division was renamed as "24 Infantry Division" on 11 August 2020. 24 Infantry Division functions under the command of Security Forces Headquarters (East) and 241, 242, 243 Infantry Brigades deployed under command to the Division.

24 Infantry Division is responsible for the security of Ampara district (except Dehiaththakandiya DS Division) and part of Batticaloa district, which consists of 26 DS Divisions including 696 GN Divisions. Moreover, it covers 4362.4 Km2 of land mass and 148 Km of coastal line. Ampara district comprises attractive places such as Arugam Bay, Kumana National Park, Gal Oya National Park, Senanayake Samudraya, Piyangala Cave and Point Sangaman which attract both native and foreign visitors. Also, Ampara district has a significant historical and religious value. Deegawapiya, Muhudu MahaViharaya, Buddhangala, Magul Maha Viharaya, Kudumbigala Temple, Neelagiriya Viharaya and Kadatkarai Mosque are some of famous religious places in Amapara district. The total population in the division area of responsibility is 1,062,542 with majority of Muslims (41.23%) and minorities are Sinhalese (21.71%), Tamils (36.46%) and others (0.60%).

Genaral Officer Commanding
24 Division


Task Force 3

Ser   Offr No  RANK  NAME  FROM  TO 
1 O/60258 Brig  SDT Liyanage RWP psc 25.10.2008  06.06.2009
2 O/60367 Col  KLAS Wijesinghe RSP psc IG 10.06.2009 12.08.2009
3 O/60368 Brig  KLAS Wijesinghe RSP psc IG 12.08.2009 10.02.2010
4 O/60427 Brig  RA Nugera WWV RWP RSP 10.02.2010 08.02.2011
5 O/60204 Brig SHFP Perera RSP 09.02.2011 27.11.2013

24 Division

Ser   Offr No  RANK  NAME  FROM  TO 
6 O/60204 Brig  SHFP Perera RSP 27.11.2013 06.01.2014
7 O/60377 Brig HKP Peiris USP 07.01.2014 25.08.2014
8 O/60398 Brig  PMR Bandara WWV USP ndu psc 26.08.2014 30.12.2014
9 O/60398 Maj Gen PMR Bandara WWV USP ndu psc 30.12.2014 08.08.2016
10 O/60451 Brig LM Mudalige RWP RSP ndu 08.08.2016 30.03.2017
11 O/60451 Maj Gen LM Mudalige RWP RSP ndu 30.03.2017 09.07.2019
12 O/60562 Brig A I Marasinghe RWP RSP 11.07.2019 14.08.2019
13 O/60562 Maj Gen A I Marasinghe RWP RSP 15.08.2019 01.11.2019
14 O/60629 Brig J C Gamage ndc psc 01.11.2019 07.11.2019
15 O/60629 Maj Gen J C Gamage ndc psc 08.11.2019 07.08.2020
16 O/60769 Maj Gen T D Weerakoon RWP RSP USP 07.08.2020 10.08.2021

24 Infantry Division

Ser   Offr No  RANK  NAME  FROM  TO 
17 O/60729 Maj Gen T D Weerakoon RWP RSP USP 10.08.2020 07.02.2021
18 O/61259 Maj Gen A C Lamahewa WWP RWP RSP 08.02.2021 09.02.2022
19 O/61722 Brig SB Amunugama RWP RSP ndu 10.02.2022 18.05.2022
20 O/61722 Maj Gen SB Amunugama RWP RSP ndu 18.05.2022 03.10.2022
21 O/61238 Maj Gen SWB Welagedara RSP USP ndc 04.10.2022 13.12.2022
22 O/61504 Major General W Chandrasiri RSP USP psc 29.12.2022 19.04.2024
22 O/61698 Major General WLAC Perera RWP RSP USP 22.04.2024 Up to date

Contact Details of Div HQ

Postal Address :- Headquarters, 24 Division, Army Camp, Malwatta, Ampara.
Email Address :- 24div@army.lk
Telephone Numbers : 0632051574 / 0779028867
Fax Numbers : 0632051575