Gajaba Regiment

Unity is Strength

5(v)th Battalion of Gajaba Regiment


Nucleus of the 5th Battalion the Gajaba Regiment was initiated under Sri Lanka Army Volunteer Force by ARO 587/5 03rd March 1989. The Battalion was temporally locate Headquarters 2(v) Sri Lanka Light Infantry regiment - Colombo.

There after 5th Battalion the Gajaba Regiment was raised as an Independent Infantry Battalion, on 07th July 1989 and placed under command to Headquarters 2 Division and establishing the Battalion Headquarters at Horowpothana.

The Battalion was deployed in Welioya, Gajabapura, Galkulama, Pulmudei, Wilpattu, Kilali, Mirisuvil, Palaly, Kantalei.

Specially during the humanitarian operation this Battalion was actively participated under 55, 57 and 58 Divisions in Madu, Mulankavil, Kevil, Poonaryne, Paranthan, Dharmapuram and presently under command to 663 Brigade, 66 Division under Security Force headquqrters Kilinochchi.

The Names of the Commanding Officers.

Srn  Name From To
1. Lt Col P C Premachandra KSV 09.03.1989 16.05.1994
2. Lt Col G Wijayarathna 17.05.1994 11.07.1996
3. Major L H S C Silva RWP RSP 12.07.1996 15.09.1996
4. Major V S P De Mel 16.09.1996 16.07.1997
5. Major M D K J Maniyangama 17.07.1997 12.10.2000
6. Major W B A S Perera 13.10.2000 05.05.2002
7. Major M R C S Fernando 06.05.2002 07.03.2007
8. Lt Col S R M B Weerakoon 08.03.2007 07.09.2011
9. Major I P Jayarathna 08.09.2011 10.07.2014
10. Major D S P Liyanage 11.07.2014 02.06.2018
8. Major K K Jayasinghe 03.06.2018 15.03.2021
9. Major HMRDK Herath 16.03.2021 20.02.2023
10. Maj DSYL Kuruwita 27.02.2023 Up to Now

Contact Details

Address :

5th Battalion the Gajaba Regiment,
Army Camp,

Fax : 025 - 3770419
T.P no : 0252278488 (Rear HQ)