Security Forces Headquarters

16th November 2021 15:34:17 Hours


The Security Forces (West) was formed on 15 November 2012 and presently carrying out its duties in an excellent manner covering nine districts under the Western, North Western, Sabaragamuwa and Southern Provinces.

Currently 14 and 61 Infantry Divisions are deployed under the Security Forces (West) and they are committed to maintaining high standard of living for the civil people within the area by providing Internal Security, military assistance to the COVID - 19 pandemic and providing military assistance to the disaster management etc.

Security Forces (West) marked its 9th anniversary on Monday (15) with several programmes lined up on the direction of the Commander Security Forces (West), Major General D G S Senarath Yapa RWP RSP ndu adhering to the health guidelines in order to prevent COVID - 19.

The Commander Security Forces (West) traditionally addressed the troops covering some salient aspects on the security and the importance of the area, engagement with the COVID - 19 pandemic, assistance of current disaster situation in the country. Similarly, a tea party was arranged for all ranks and the Commander Security Forces (West) had a cordial chat with the Officers and other ranks. In the evening a Bodhi Pooja was held at the Army Bodhirajaramaya temple, parallel to the 9th anniversary of Security Forces (West).

Senior Officers, Officers, Other Ranks and civil staffers of the Security Forces Headquarters (West) were associated with anniversary events.