Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment

Nothing is beyond endurance for the one who excels

02nd April 2024 18:45:20 Hours


The Vijayabahu Motocross - 2024, organized by the Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment in collaboration with Sri Lanka Racing Riders Association was held at Vijayabahu Motocross circuit at Boyagane on 31 March 2024. The event which was held after four years was an absolute success, and all spectators enjoyed thrilling experiences during the Vijayabahu Motocross - 2024 while creating avenues for riders to demonstrate their talents.

Commander of the Army Maj Gen H L V M Liyanage RWP RSP ndu attended as the Chief Guest of the event while Chief of Staff of Sri Lanka Army Maj Gen W H K S Peiris RWP RSP VSV USP ndu, Maj Gen S P A I M B Samarakoon Hdmc Lsc Deputy Chief of Staff of Sri Lanka Army, Maj Gen M K Jayawardena RSP VSV USP ndu Commandant Sri Lanka Army Volunteer Force and several other senior officers attended as Guests of Honour for the event. Commander Security Force Central and Colonel of the Regiment of the Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment, Major General Rohitha Aluvihare and Regimental Centre Commandant warmly welcomed them.

More than 80 riders at various capacities, including Defence forces and a foreign rider from India competed in 14 events at the Vijayabhau circuit. For the first time in Vijayabahu Motocross history two ATV events was also included in this mega episode. Commander of the Army’s Trophy was secured by Lahiru Jeewantha of Sri Lanka Army Service Corps while Jacques Gunawardana won the Champion Trophy being the fastest rider of the race. Sandew Amarasinghe became the Emerging Rider of the year and DMD Kalhara secured the trophy for the Longest Jump.

The event was live telecasted on channel TV1 and Facebook and more than 6000 spectators were present to witness the event.