Sri Lanka Signal Corps

Swift & Sure


Nucleus of the 2nd Regiment Sri Lanka Signal Corps is the 1st (Volunteer) Squadron which was initiated under the command of 1st Regiment Sir Lanka Signal Corps by ARO 21/89 on 07th August 1980. Initially there were 08 Officers and 200 Other Ranks.

The 1st (Volunteer) Squadron Sri Lanka Signal Corps was formed as a unit by ARO 5/89 and the Headquarters of 2nd Regiment Sri Lanka Signal Corps (Volunteer) was stationed as an independent unit with effect from 13th April 1999 at the Regimental Headquarters Sri Lanka Signal Corps Panagoda.

The raising instructions was released by the Army Headquarters on 28th April 2006 by ARO 15/2006 and 2nd Regiment Sri Lanka Signal Corps (Volunteer) was revised as an independent Signal Battalion states and took over the communication duties of the area of 11 Division, Colombo.

The 2nd Regiment Sri Lanka Signal Corps (Volunteer) was relocated at the Security Forces Headquarters (East) Welikanda, on 13 May 2009 to relieve 1st Regiment Sri Lanka.

During these periods following officers commanded the 2 (V) Regiment Sri Lanka Signal Corps:

Major RD Karunarathna 07/24/2006 - 04/24/2007
Major MPJSK Patabadige 25/04/2007 -25/06/2007
Major LJC De Peiris 25/06/2007 - 05/09/2010
Lieutenant Colonel AR Obesekara 06/09/2010 - 28/12/2011
Lieutenant Colonel HWKC Wadugoda 28/12/2011 - 01/07/2014
Lieutenant Colonel DNI Amarasinghe RSP 02/07/2014 - 04/08/2015
Lieutenant Colonel GLSW Liyanage USP psc 05/08/2015 - 17/03/2017
Lieutenant Colonel BM Jayaweera 17/03/2017 - 17/03/2019
Lieutenant Colonel AAT Somarathna USP 17/03/2019 - 18/03/2021
Lieutenant Colonel BP Udage USP 19/03/2021 - 10/11/2022
Maj KVA Kodikara psc 11/11/2022 - Up to date